Psychological Association of the Philippines

Room 210, Second Floor, Philippine Social Science Center Diliman, Quezon City

Mobile: 0915-8477-PAP (727)
Tel./Fax: 453-8257

E-mail add:

Not yet a PAP member? Register!



The Psychological Association of the Philippines (PAP)

Founded in 1962, the Psychological Association of the Philippines is an organization committed to the promotion of excellence in the teaching, research, and practice of Psychology, and its recognition as a scientifically-oriented discipline for human and social development.

To date, the organization is composed of eight major divisions representing the key areas in the practice of psychology in the Philippines. These divisions are as follows:   Assessment Psychology, Clinical Psychology, Counseling Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Educational Psychology, Industrial-Organizational Psychology, Social Psychology, and Teaching Psychology.  [See Specialty Divisions.]

The PAP Mission Statement

To be a World-Class Community of Psychologists Committed to Personal and Professional Growth, Humane Service and Social Transformation.

World Class

Globally competitive in psychological teaching, research and practice; open to the culture of other countries and societies; have benchmarked best practices in other countries; publications in top-ranked international journals and books; recognition by colleagues through citations, awards, and leadership positions;

Personal Professional Growth

Personal Professional Growth: Organize and participate in continuing education programs; membership and participation in international conferences and organizations; legislation that professionalize psychology; expand network and strengthen culture of mutual learning and co-mentoring; nurture the whole person through informal and non-formal processes;

Humane Service

Adhering to ethical standards; respect for our clients; modeling compassion and concern for the welfare of other (malasakit); Sensitivity to the economic capacity of our clients;

Social Transformation

Societal restructuring; proactive in understanding; providing a scientific analysis of whatever happens in society; taking positions and actions on important social issued; support the psychological needs of individuals and/or organizations that are in the vortex of social transformation.

Brief History of the Organization

On November 11, 1962, a small group of psychologists gathered at Selecta Restaurant along C.M. Recto Avenue for what would later be considered one of the most defining moments in Philippine Psychology. They came from different institutions, drawn to that single place by a common purpose. From the University of the Philippines (UP) came the Chairperson of the country's first Department of Psychology, Dr. Agustin Alonzo, Fr. Jaime Bulatao, S.J. founder of the Department of Psychology and the Central Guidance Bureau of the Ateneo de Manila University, was also present. With them were Dr. Sinforoso Padilla, who established the Psychological Clinic at UP, and Dr. Jesus Perpinan, who founded the Psychological Clinic at Far Eastern University. Dr. Mariano Obias was also present at that historic meeting presided over by Dr. Alfredo Lagmay of UP, which saw the birth of the Psychological Association of the Philippines (PAP).

Two months later, the PAP ushered in the new year by electing its first set of officers. It was on January 1, 1963 when Dr. Sinforoso Padilla became the Association's first President, Dr. Alfredo Lagmay the first President-elect, Fr. Jaime Bulatao, S.J. the first Executive Secretary, and Dr. Estefania Aldaba-Lim the first Treasurer. Atty. Narciso Albarracin, who helped the group with their incorporation papers, was sworn in as the Legal Counsel of the Association.

The first plenary meeting was held on March 30, 1963 at the Ateneo de Manila University in Padre Faura. Dr. Sinforoso Padilla delivered the presidential address. After that, the group held monthly meetings and picnics where scientific researches were presented.

In January, 1964, the first annual national convention was held at the NSDB Science Pavilion on the corner of Taft Avenue and Herran (now Pedro Gil), Manila. The high point of the convention was a Symposium on the Filipino Personality which was later published as a book and remains one of the classics in Philippine psychology.

A Brief Chronological History of Philippine Psychology


PAP Presidents: Past to Present

1963 - 1964            Sinforoso Padilla

1964 - 1965            Alfredo V. Lagmay

1965 - 1966            Jaime C. Bulatao, SJ

1966 - 1967            Estefania Aldaba-Lim

1967 - 1968            Jaime C. Bulatao, SJ

1968 - 1969            Jaime C. Bulatao, SJ

1969 - 1970            Abraham I. Felipe

1970 - 1971            Pura M. Reyes

1971 - 1973            Alfredo V. Lagmay

1973 - 1975            Patricia B. Licuanan

1976 - 1977            Natividad J. Munarriz

1978 - 1979            Virgilio G. Enriquez

1979 - 1980            Jaime C. Bulatao, SJ

1980 - 1981            Jaime C. Bulatao, SJ

1981 - 1982            Ma. Lourdes A. Carandang

1982 - 1983            Ma. Lourdes A. Carandang

1983 - 1984            Patricia B. Licuanan

1984 - 1986            Patricia B. Licuanan

1986 - 1987            Allen L. Tan

1987 - 1988            Allen L. Tan

1988 - 1989            Noemi S. Catalan

1989 - 1990            Noemi S. Catalan

1990 - 1992            Amaryllis T. Torres

1993 - 1994            Allen L. Tan

1994 - 1996            Noemi S. Catalan

1996 - 1997            Natividad A. Dayan

1997 - 1998            Rosemarie S. Clemena

1998 - 1999            Elena L. Samonte

1999 - 2000            Imelda V. G. Villar

2000 - 2001            Floranie P. Jacob

2001 - 2002            Marylou U. Onglatco

2002 - 2003            Conchita V. Umali

2003 - 2004            Anna Miren Gonzalez-Intal

2004 - 2005            Lucila O. Bance

2005 - 2006            Allan B. I. Bernardo

2006 - 2007            Allan B. I. Bernardo

2007 - 2008            Allan B. I. Bernardo

2008 - 2009            J. Enrique G. Saplala 

2009 - 2010            J. Enrique G. Saplala

2010 - 2011            Maria Caridad H. Tarroja

2011 - 2012            Maria Caridad H. Tarroja

2012 - 2013            Ma. Regina M. Hechanova

2013 - 2014            Ma. Regina M. Hechanova

2014 - 2015            Angela V. Regala